His Bride

I believe that God takes us all through different seasons in our lives. Sometimes they are seasons of hardship and sometimes they are seasons of joy and peace. I also believe that God has something to teach each person in every season that he takes them through. Lately I’ve been think about where I’m coming from and what I’m going to; what have I learned from the last few years and do I still need to learn?

In the past year or so, I have learned so much about God’s character: his redemption, his hope, his forgiveness…Really I have learned an incredible amount, but that’s the most amazing thing about God: There is ALWAYS more to learn. A few days ago I was sitting in my room having tea with Jesus (Yes that is possible: He is my friend and I have tea with my friends.) and I was just asking God what my next season was. For some reason the word BRIDE kept coming to mind and I couldn’t really figure out what God was trying to say. So I looked up references to the word BRIDE in the Bible and I came  upon Isaiah 62. As I read through the chapter I felt like I was being hit by a train; everything just spoke straight to me. The verse that impacted me the most was verse three; it said,

“You will be a crown of splendour in the Lord’s hand,
    a royal diadem in the hand of your God.”

As I read that I was just hit by how much God loves me! It was kind of this crazy revelation of what it means to be the Bride of Christ. I just felt God telling me to let him pursue me, to let him romance me. To some that idea may seem really foreign and weird, but it is totally a biblical aspect of God’s character. He woos us, he desires our hearts and wishes to be married to us, not in a ‘put a ring on it’ way, but in a covenant of faithfulness. God desires that intimate relationship with us and that is kind of a new concept for me. I’ve always heard people say ‘the Bride of Christ’, but I didn’t really know what that meant, especially for me personally.

The last couple of days I’ve been asking God what it looks like for him to pursue me and yesterday, when I was in our base worship service, I felt God telling me, “To pursue you is to want what is best for you and to give you what you desire. Now what do you desire?” So as I was standing there, I asked God to hear affirmation and encouragement from someone. I wasn’t feeling super well and I just wanted to be reassured. Well the day moved on and I totally forgot about that completely intimate moment with God. A little bit later on a friend of mine dropped a note on my desk and it had a scripture and encouragement written on it. Proverbs 3:3-4 says this,

Let love and faithfulness never leave you;
    bind them around your neck,
    write them on the tablet of your heart.
Then you will win favour and a good name
    in the sight of God and man.”

To me it was God reminding me that all I need to do is love him and he will do the rest. God has limitless capabilities to give me what I need. He knows what is best for me and all that I need.

So yeah…that’s what God is teaching me: I am his bride and he is drawing me closer to him everyday.

One thought on “His Bride

Leave a Reply

