Holidays and Jesus

Alright, so it has been a while since I last wrote about what’s going on in my life! And let me tell you…Much has happened!! I have had an incredibly full couple of weeks. My parents have been here, a new school started, I went on holidays and, most of all, God has been teaching me some incredible things!

Around two weeks ago my parents arrived in Newcastle to check out where I live for a few days. It was so cool to have them here; we hit some of the beaches and popular coffee shops – all that touristy stuff. We took one day and drove up to Hunter Valley which is about a two hour drive from Newcastle. We spent the day walking around and visiting a bunch of the small shops in one of the little village centers. After our day there, my parents had a couple more days with me in Newy and then my brother came to meet up with us.

I took about six days off work and we used that time to go on a bit of a road trip. We spent an entire day driving and made our way from Newy to Beerwah to visit the Australia Zoo! After our 11 hour driving excursion we stayed at this tiny hotel and then got up the next morning to get to the zoo good and early. It was so fun to see all the cute Australian animals like koalas and kangaroos and wombats…But there were definitely some animals that I wouldn’t qualify as ‘cute’…Like the crocs, alligators, and all the birds!!! I am terrified of birds; I mean they can just fly out of nowhere and kill you or poop on you.

After spending a while there we drove on a little bit more to Hervey Bay. It took quite a while and much effort but we finally found a hotel to stay in; however we weren’t as lucky finding a restaurant that was open past 8:30pm. Eventually we settled on getting some random snacks from a grocery store to curb our hungry for a while. The next morning we were up bright and early to hop on a ferry to take us to Fraser Island! It is the world’s largest sand island, and it has a rain forest growing on it. Yeah, that’s right, an entire forest growing in sand. The island is also covered in fresh water lakes and creeks. Off the ocean shores you could see humpback whales breaching and we were lucky enough to chance upon a dingo scavenging on the beach. The highlight, however, was taking to the sky in a tiny six-seater plane and flying over the ocean and island for about 15 minutes. We could see the whales playing in the water from way up in the sky and it was seriously one of he most beautiful things I have ever seen. I totally fell in love with Fraser Island. Sadly, our day ended much too soon and we headed back to the mainland to drive on to Noosa.

Once we got there we got set up in our rental apartment and crashed. On Saturday we went to this HUGE open-air market! It was so cool and full of jewelry, art, instruments and food. A bunch of small businesses also set up there to sell their wares. The best part was that the market was just off the main street of the town and there was a massive used book store there. I was seriously in heaven; I scored a trilogy to keep myself occupied for the few days that I had left of vacation. We spent the rest of the days and the following two days sitting by the pool and exploring around the beach. It was probably the most restful time I’d had in a long time. I also loved that I got to spend a bunch of time with my parents and my brother.

On Monday evening I flew from Brisbane back to Newy and pretty much slept as soon as I got home. On Tuesday I jumped back into the steady rhythm of life on base. And that’s when my already amazing week got even better.

Upon getting back home I was introduced to all the new students that we have for the current DTS! It’s so cool to have the entire house bustling with new faces! I love getting to know so many new people from all over the world.

The last couple of days I’ve been getting back into the groove of things and that means that I’m back to doing my quiet time (devotions/spending time with God) every morning. At the moment I’m reading though Luke and every morning I’ve been having some kind of revelation.

Two days ago (Tuesday) I was reading Luke 6:46-49 which talks about the wise and the foolish builder. Jesus compares a builder who builds his house with a foundation as opposed to someone building a house without a foundation. He was talking in terms of those who hear his words and do or do not obey, but it got me thinking of so much more. Just in the general aspect of life, have I built a foundation? If so, what is my foundation made of? It gave me some things to think about in regards to what my center is, what I focus on and where I put my effort, time and money.

Yesterday and today God’s been talking to me a lot about not worrying and trusting him. Especially when it comes to the area of finances. In Luke 9 when Jesus sends out the twelve he tells them to take nothing with them; they must have really had to trust that he would provide food, shelter, money and whatever else they came to need. Again in Luke 10 Jesus sends out people and tells them to take nothing with them so that they must rely on him to provide everything they will need. Lastly, in Luke 12, Jesus blatantly says, “Do not worry…” He will give me all that I need.

That kind of wraps up what I’ve been up to the last couple of weeks and what God has been teaching me! I’m and so blessed to have had my family visit and to be able to live in such an incredible place!

Leave a Reply

