Do the splits

Tea: Chocolate pumpkin chai
Music: Noah and the whale
Thoughts: Wear and tear and, one day, splits

I’m sitting here thinking about what it takes to do the splits. I have been turning over some stories on my head.

One time I was rollerblading with my brother (yes, rollerblading), and I slipped and fell and did the complete splits. So there I was sprawled in the middle of my drive way with leg muscles that have never been so torn. I was so sore the next day I couldn’t walk. I remember just being in so much pain and I was so scared of rollerblading for a really long time.

I also remember being in dance classes and every class we would practice our splits. We would stretch and stretch until it hurt. I was always a bit sore the next day, but I was also closer so the perfect splits. I would work at it all the time and eventually, after a lot of stretching and soreness, I got it.

This is just like having faith. When we practice walking out in faith, it stretches us and we can get scared. But the more and more we learn to trust God, the easier it becomes. If we trust God in the small things, we will be able to trust him in the big thing is as well. We have to keep on working on our faith. Our ability and endurance will increase as our trust grows.

James 1:2-3 NIV
Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.

Leave a Reply

