no fear

This is something that I wrote a number of months ago and I’ve wanted to publish it recently! Enjoy!!

I have many fears in my life  and , every now and then, I feel like they become so overwhelming to me. I have days when I lose sight of God’s incredible love and, on those days, my fear seems to overshadow everything else in my life. The cool thing, however, is how God sees us, knows our fears and doubts, and loves us despite our own misgivings.

The past few days God has been teaching me a lot about overcoming fears. Every morning I spend a little bit of time reading my Bible and just talking to God; God has been using those times to show me some incredible things.

One of the fears that I said I have is that I am afraid that I feel and love more deeply than others. I don’t know why this scares me so much, but as I read in my Bible about three days ago, I found out that feeling deeply isn’t something to be afraid of. In 1 Peter 1:22 the people are told to “love one another deeply, from the heart”. When I read that it was like God was telling me that yes, I do have a very deep sense of love, but that isn’t a bad thing. God showed me that loving abashedly is what he created me for and that, when I trust him, he will protect my heart from the brokenness that I so greatly fear.

Another thing that I am frightened of is my past determining my future, but God showed me that that could not be further from the truth. Yes, there are consequences for my actions and hurts take a while to heal some times, but, when I submit myself to God and to the authority he’s placed in my life, God is gracious to forgive and quick to pour out blessings. In 1 Peter 2, Peter is talking to a group of people and in verses 9-10 he talks about how they are “a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession.” He also says that God called them out of darkness and into his wonderful light. So at one point they were in darkness, but God chose them to be his special possession. God has done that for me. I have been called out of my past and into a future where I am capable of great things.

As I kept reading through 1 Peter, God just kept revealing more of his incredible love and the power that it has over fear. Verse 3:14 says, “Do no fear their threats; do not be frightened.” No longer will I have fear of man; if my heart is surrendered to God, nothing can hurt me. In verse 4:8 Peter again says to love each other deeply, because love covers sin. The last verse that really got me was 5:7, “Cast all your anxiety on him, because he cares for you.”

So yes, I have fears. Some times they feel great and overwhelming, but my God is greater. For every fear that I have, he has a promise and a love that overcomes. No longer do I want my fears to control me. I want to live my life with courage and freedom and, most of all, love. When I have days when fear is trying to take my heart, I will remember that God’s love is perfect and it casts out all fear.

There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.
– 1 john 4.18

Leave a Reply

