Schools and Storms

The past couple of weeks have been a bit longer, but so good. God has been doing a lot of stuff in me and around me! I want to let you know about some of the stuff that I’ve gotten up to over the last little bit!

First, I have started running our girls’ Bible study called ‘Habib’ (a shortened Arabic word for ‘beloved’). We have an average of 6 girls coming. All of them are from the local community and are usually a part of our Saturday Youth Street program. I’ve been a part of the group for a couple months while I transitioned into leading it and my heart has been totally captured by the girls. They are such an incredible group and I love seeing them get interested in God and his Word. We are currently watching through a video series that talks about who we surround ourselves with; it has been amazing seeing the girls open up about their lives. We have our little meetings every Wednesday afternoon and most of the girls come up to our house for dinner after and then to our local community church meeting in the evening. God has been teaching me so much about leadership and love as I learned to steward and take care of these girls’ hearts. I am so excited to teach the girls and see them grow in their faith.
I have also been in the process of applying for a new visa and getting new health insurance. As part of our new staff training program, I am now enrolled in a school which allows me to get a student visa for Australia. Getting this type of visa is much easier and lasts for two years! The visa that I am currently on lasts until April 30th and then, I am happy to say, my student visa begins on May 1st! I applied for it just over a week ago and heard back within several days. The whole process was so fast and I’m so glad that I’ve gotten it out of the way! Visas are awesome because they allow us to do the work we want to do, but they can be such a hassle!
As you may have guessed, due to getting a student visa, I am now a part of our new staff training program. In Australia, it is labeled a Certificate IV in Christian Mission, or C4CM for short. It is a two year program in which we carry out our regular staff position, but once a week we have an hour and a half of ‘lectures’. Every quarter (three months) we go through a different module; the module we are currently going through is all about faith & finances. It has been so eye-opening to get a Biblical perspective of finances and also discuss with my peers about our own financial situations. I’m so thankful that I am doing this course as I’ve already learned so much and it has only been running for three weeks. I’m stoked to see what the next two years will bring!
Another very exciting thing that happened was applying for our Biblical Core Course Seminar which will happen in May. This will be a three week intensive course in which we study the Bible and are taught an inductive Bible study method. I’ve felt God putting this kind of course on my heart for a long time and now the leadership has decided to bring this school to our base! I’m really looking forward to taking time to just pour into the Word and gain a deeper understanding of it. I know that being able to build my knowledge of the Bible will bring so much richness into every other aspect of my life. God has so much to teach me and I am beyond ready to learn!
As I said at the start, these past couple weeks have been longer ones, especially the last several days. Starting on Monday night, the whole Hunter Valley region was hit with a massive storm with cyclone conditions. There was ridiculously strong winds and rain that lasted all through Monday night and Tuesday. We lost power early on Tuesday morning and we took a lot of precautions to avoid any unnecessary danger. Almost everyone on base stayed up at the house, all but a few guys who went down to our office building to make sure everything was alright there. Unfortunately there was a bit of damage to out offices and the wild wind tore up a bit of the roofing and up at our house one of the rooms’ ceilings caved in due to the water damage. Luckily, no one was hurt and there was no super severe damage; many others have not been so fortunate. I believe there have been seven people reported dead and there are whole towns that have been flooded and torn apart. Please be praying for the people within this area, there is much need for it.
I look back at the past few weeks and I’m so encouraged by what God has done; I can’t help but be excited for what the future holds. As the time comes for my Bible study course to start, I am getting so eager to be a student if only for a few weeks. The course will be costing me $750 which I don’t have yet. I am also in need of more monthly supporters. I would love it if you would pray about joining with me as I bring God’s Kingdom to the nation of Australia! If you have any questions, please email me at britt.laird95@gmail.com or send me a message on facebook! I would absolutely love to hear from you!
Please keep me in your prayers as I continue to grow in what God has called me to do and let me know if there is anything I can be praying for you for!

Love you bunches,
Britt
Love you bunches,
Britt
Leave a Reply

