I love him.

I have some exciting news! In my last post, I wrote about doing a Bible Core Course and that it would be costing $750. However, since that last update there have been a few changes to the course, the main one being that the course got reduced to $280! They reduced the price for staff members in Newcastle so that we can have as many people doing it, as it is so important to have a solid biblical foundation no matter what ministry you’re in. So I have all the finances I will need in order to do the school! It’s such a blessing.

These past few weeks have just been the most incredible time. I’ve been seeing God move so much within my heart and I’m so blown away by how good and gracious he is. In one of my last posts I talked about how it’s different to love God for who he is than what he does. I guess that over the last few weeks that’s what I’ve been learning about a lot. As opposed to wanting God to give me the things I want/need, I’ve been asking him to show me who he is in every season. I want to learn about his character and how I can represent him in my life. As a result I’ve seen him come through incredibly in two specific areas: finances and having a heart for the lost.

I’m at the point where I’ve reached the end of my savings and I’m only relying on God to provide for me. And he has done that in some amazing ways, but the most incredible is when he provides for me through other people. There is something about knowing that you have people standing behind you and supporting what you are doing. I wouldn’t be able to be here doing what God has called me to do if it wasn’t for the people who support me; I am so blessed to have such amazing people partnering with me.

I have also felt God really showing me how he feels about people; it’s heartbreaking and heavy, but it is amazing to look at someone and see what God sees in them instead of what the world does. As you may know, we run a youth program every Saturday called Youth Street. I am a part of our Performing Arts Team and we have about 15 crew that come more regularly (there are a few more that come, but aren’t totally consistent). I’ve been on this team for about a year now and I can barely even describe how much I love my crew; they are all so individual and unique, but we have this amazing family atmosphere on our team. However, lately God has been breaking my heart a lot for those on my team that don’t know him and it has made Saturdays hard, but so much more worth it. It’s easy to look at a young person and see all the smiles and laughter and jokes, that is what people want you to see, but there is so much more to a person than that. When God looks at us he sees our thoughts and feelings, all the messy parts of who we are that we try to hide from people. If we ask God to give us his eyes to see people, he will open us up to be able to see those hurting parts of people and, most of all, he’ll give us ways to bring his Truth and comfort into their situations. That’s what the last couple weeks have been for me; having my heart completely broken for the young people I get to work with and letting God use me to reach into their hearts and show them his love. I’ve been so blessed to see God moving in the lives of our crew and I couldn’t be more excited to be a part of it!

So, over all, it has been a pretty awesome couple of weeks. I am learning and growing so much and I know that it will only continue as I move into this next season with doing the Bible Course. I love that there is always more to learn; I can never know it all and I never want to. I want to keeping learning and absorbing every moment.

I really want to thank everyone who has supported me over the last year. I can’t believe that I’ve already been in Australia for this long, but I know I wouldn’t have made it if I didn’t have a such a solid group of people constantly encouraging me to push forward and keep going. Whether it’s through finances, prayer, or simply friendship, every person in my life has helped me shape who I am today and I couldn’t be more grateful.

Please continue to pray for me as I start the Bible Course next week. I’m excited, but a but nervous as the schedule is pretty full on. I’ve also been battling health stuff again; I have been having some reoccurring headaches and neck pains. And lastly, I’m in need of finances to fly home in August. If you are interested in supporting me, or simply want to chat, please feel free to email me at britt.laird@gmail.com or send me a message on facebook! Oh! And snail mail is always very welcome; I’m in need of a penpal!

Much Love,
Britt

Leave a Reply

