two homes

Well…It has been several crazy weeks. I don’t even remember when I posted last, but I think it’s safe to say that it’s been a while. So, as I sit here in LAX, awaiting my connecting flight to San Francisco and then on to Sydney, I can’t help but think about the last five weeks and what they have meant for me.

I arrived in Terrace on July 31st and I could’t have been more excited to get home. It was incredible to see friends and family and to settle into my old room a little bit. It was definitely strange waking up in my house surrounded by my old things. but it felt exactly as it should. However, as time went by, and I thought that I should have settled more and more into being at home, it seemed that I did exactly the opposite.

I was sitting in my mom’s office at our church just talking about what it was like to be home, and I got really frustrated. Home hadn’t been what I had expected it to be. It took me a week or two to notice things, but there were differences that I was starting to pick out. People had changed and my city had changed. It was weird realizing that. I left my home expecting it to pause while I was gone and then start again when I got back; it’s silly to say that, but it’s true, even if I didn’t realize it. You never expect your childhood home to change, but it always is, you only notice it once you leave for a while.

I experienced a sense of culture shock in my own home and it was a lot harder than I thought it would be. My church has been going through a lot of change while I’ve been gone and it’s been easy to feel disconnected from it. The once, small town of Terrace is becoming more and more of a city with hotels going up and way more traffic than I’ve ever seen there. Even my house has some differences.

Through all of the change that I noticed it was easy to just shut myself off to it and to just think about what I was doing in Australia and how I wasn’t called to be in terrace anymore. But that isn’t the truth. No matter where I go or how long I am gone for, there will always be a part of me that is called to that awesome northern city of Terrace, BC. God gave me some really cool opportunities to give and to not allow myself to disconnect from home. I got to serve my church through youth ministry and cleaning. I picked up a few shifts at the cafe I used to work at. I had plenty of time to spend with friends and family. I even had the opportunity to show off the Great Canadian North to a few of my friends from the States.

To be honest, it was a hard trip, but just because something is hard doesn’t mean it’s not good. In fact, the hard things are usually the ones worth fighting for.

So, as I said, I’m sitting in L.A, waiting for my flight back to Australia – going to my home, from my home. I never knew that my heart could be so in love with two different places. The main thing that I have learned is that if I am listening to God and following his leading, I am exactly where he’s called me to be. Over this last month, I was called to be in Canada, next week, I’m called to be in Australia. Right now, I’m called to be in this airport.

Huh, it’s crazy the things that we learn.

Leave a Reply

