w o t l

W.O.T.L – an acronym to live by. “What does it mean?”, you may ask. Well, let me tell you.

Word Of The LORD.

Word of the Lord is something that most Christians have probably heard of; if you’re a YWAMer (person involved in Youth With a Mission), you have definitely heard of it. There’s a phrase that we live by, “I have Word of the Lord to…(fill in here).” We seek God about most things in our life, and once he’s spoken something, we stick by it through any and every thing. God’s Word is sovereign and unchanging and someone that we can rely on, even when things get tough.

About two years ago I was finishing up my DTS here at YWAM Newcastle and I was asked to join staff helping out with administration in the Training Department. My heart leapt at the idea, but I was told to seek the Word of the Lord in coming back on staff. I remember not knowing exactly how to do that, but I gave it my best shot. I sat down in the back yard with my Bible and journal and made a list; I asked God for three specific confirmations for returning to Newcastle. Within a few days all of the things I asked for happened. That was probably the first time I felt strong direction from God as I started to plan to move back to Australia.

Looking back over the last two years, I can tell you it hasn’t been easy. I’ve had had some huge struggles with identity, relationships, health, and finance. I’ve had a lot of days when I want to just give up and go back to Canada, work a 9-5 job, go to school, and be ‘normal’. But I always come back to one thing – Word of the Lord. I have a note saved on my phone with my little list of confirmation and the answers God gave me. It serves as my reminder that I God has called me. He brought me to Australia, and he won’t strand me here.

Another part of W.O.T.L. is knowing that he loves his children. I can believe that he sent me to Australia, but if I don’t think he loves me, why would I listen to him or follow where he leads me. However, I know that God loves me and he is the most amazing father. I obey him because I love him. He doesn’t abandon those whom he loves. He provides for, he protects, and he watches over.

The last two years would have been impossible without God. I have gone through periods of having no finances, yet I’ve never gone into debt. I’ve been sick many times, but have been growing healthier every day. I have been lonely beyond belief, but have never been more surrounded by people who love me. I have Word of the Lord. God has called me to serve at YWAM Newcastle for this season in my life. He doesn’t make half-hearted promises. He will see me through. So I will not be shaken in tough times. When there are days when I just want to go home and live an easy life, I will remind myself that God has promised to meet my needs. It won’t always be easy, but living by faith never is. However, I get to rest in the fulfillment of living the best life I could possibly live right now and doing incredible things to make a difference in the world.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” – Romans 8:28

Leave a Reply

