homesick

longing for home and family while absent from them

There is something about where you come from that makes the heart swell. Whether it’s thinking about spring carnivals, summer festivals, autumn holidays, or winter traditions, there’s always something to make you long for home and those you love that are there. However, I’ve come to learn that distance truly does make the heart grow fonder. I love my home and the family and friends that are there, but this time away from them makes seeing them or talking to them all the more exciting. Also, I have come to never forget that I am called to be where I currently am. There are days where my heart longs for the comforts of home, but I also couldn’t be more happy with where I am right now. I love Australia – I love the people, the culture, the cities…everything. While there are things in Canada that fill my heart, there are just as many things here that give me complete joy – spring camping trips, summer adventures, autumn beach days, and winter rains.  I love where I come from, but I love where I am.

Leave a Reply

