Thanks

Over the last week and a half I’ve been struggling with thinking of what I want to write about. I believe I’ve reached my own whit’s end (insert Adventures in Odyssey quote here;) – I feel like I’m currently lacking a little bit of creativity and vision. So when I reach the end of myself and I no longer have anything within my to give out, there is really only one thing I can do: Give thanks. So that’s what I’m going to write about – the things that I am thankful for my life.

The list of things that I’m thankful for could really go on and on for a really long while, but I’ll try and keep it to three or four…no guarantees though.

Firstly, I’m thankful for my family. We’re probably the weirdest grouping of people, all with our unique little quirks, but we are all cut of the same cloth and we stick together through thick and thin. I can say that because we’ve gone through a lot and come out stronger as a family, and not only that, friends. There aren’t many families that I know that spend as much time together as possible, but seriously if I could hang out with my family everyday…I probably would. My parents have taught me how to depend on God and be my own individual, my brothers have shown me how to be strong – even though mostly they’re just strong for me – and my sister-in-laws have become the fun, amazing, big sisters I’ve always wanted. I’m so blessed with such an awesome family.

I’m really thankful for the organization I work for; YWAM has taught me so much and has helped shape me into the person I am today. I’ve been challenged in so many areas to work to my full capacity, but I’ve also been mentored and nurtured in my spiritual growth. Things that I thought I was terrible at, I’ve come to see that I’m not half bad at them. I’ve been championed as a young person to be the best possible me I can be, and I’m so grateful for each person within YWAM who has helped me with that.

The friends that I have are truly the most amazing people I know. Whether I’m dying to go on a random adventure or simply need a shoulder to cry on, I have the most dependable people that are always here for me. This last year especially, I have grown so much in my relationships with my friends and I know that I have developed friendships that will last a life time. I’m thankful for every late night adventure, 2 AM Maccas run, movie night, long chat, group message, car ride, beach trip, cuddle, and hug. I wouldn’t have been able to make it through this year without the amazing people that I call friends…So thanks guys, for being so great!

I’ve saved the absolute best for last!

Above all, I am thankful that I have a God who loves me and values me above all else. He has protected me, provided for me, taught me, stretched me, help me, calmed me, and about everything else good and beautiful. He is gracious and loving and I’m so glad that I know Him as my God, Father, Friend, Saviour, and King – He makes my life worth living.

So there we go, there are a few things that I’m thankful for. I would challenge you, when you reach the end and you can’t think of things to say, give thanks. When we are thankful, we counteract any negativity and bitterness in our hearts. Try to find things you are thankful for every day, and I promise you that you’ll be happier. Thanksgiving brings hope, peace and joy – all things we need more of, especially this time of year.

Leave a Reply

