New Year

It’s a new year, so let’s talk resolutions. I’m a firm believer in not making them as I don’t see the need to set myself up for disappointment. While I value the importance in healthy living, I’m not going to put a number on what that healthy living looks like. I love to write, but I’m not going to set goals that force me to spend my free time alone telling the internet stories instead of experiencing them. I want to read more – but I want to learn from the books I read, not simply let them be a title on a list. I have amazing friends, but I don’t want to seek out time with others to make myself feel like a better friend.

Like I said, it’s a new year, and therefore I feel like it’s time to set some standards for myself and set goals to simply grow but not put restrictions on what that growth will look like. I want to learn to value myself more and to take care of me – that doesn’t mean working myself to death to lose a few pounds and it also doesn’t mean spending hours alone to have ‘me time’. I want to see myself from God’s perspective – someone worth loving and worth taking care of. When I understand that value more, the healthy habits will follow.

I want to share my stories more. I want to discuss and tell people what I think about things, but, more than that, I want to grow in my relationships. Blogging is a great way to tell the vast anonymity of the internet about what I’m learning, but I would much rather sit down for coffee with someone and talk about things. I want to see communication as the valuable resource that it is and learn how to use to deepen my relationships with people and God.

I have a strong love of learning and books happen to be one of my favorite sources of input. However, I don’t want to lose myself in fictional worlds or let a book become more important than the valuable life lessons that take place around me every day. I want to grow and develop intellectually, but I also want to learn about who God is, who I am in Him, and who the people around me are. I want to learn how to love people.

There are many incredible people in my life that I want to know more, but I don’t want to use their friendship to make myself feel better. I want to learn what they love, what they stand for and I want to grow from what they have to say and share with them what I think. I want to learn to give more of myself to those around me.

New Year’s resolutions come and go every year, but I want this year to be about helping those around me, and not myself. I don’t want to become so selfish with doing things to make my life better that I lose sight of the people and the need around me.

As I’m sitting here in the Vancouver airport, about to board my flight back to Australia, all I can think about is the people in my life that I love and those who I will get to know and learn to love. I’m determined to make this year about loving God, others, and then myself. I would challenge you to not set ridiculous resolutions that will lead to disappointment, but instead make a decision to do something that matters. Grow in love – for that is the only way that we can really make anything better.

Much Love and Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

