Why do I ask for money?

I am a full time volunteer missionary. I don’t make a salary. I pay to do missions work. Some people might not understand why YWAM does it this way, but I can honestly say that I absolutely love it. It definitely does make it a bit harder some times, but it also means that I’m doing this because I really want to. I’m not doing volunteer work to get a free ride through a few years of life. I have had to work at raising support and, while it may not seem like it’s that hard, asking people for money is actually one of the most difficult things I’ve ever had to do. It’s also probably one of the most humbling experiences I’ve ever had. Basically I have to admit that I need others – I can’t do this on my own. That’s true not only for finances, but for everything in life; I can’t do it alone.

Another thing that God has taught me over the last three years is that what I do is worth being supported. I used to think that people wouldn’t want to give money to help me do the things I do, but having that mentality meant that I didn’t actually believe in what I was doing. The thing is, I am working towards bringing love and hope to the world – it may seem like I’m not on the front lines since I sit at a desk and do administration work, but what I do is a actually a vital role in helping this organisation run at its optimal ability. Recruiting people to do administration work can be quite difficult – office work is not as appealing as going out into countries and doing more hands on work with people. This has shown me that I have talents, abilities and passions that are unique and God can use those specific things to fill a need.

Not only is my role in this place worth supporting, but the people that I get the privilege of impacting are worth it. Every young person that comes here to do a school. Every youth kid that spends their Saturdays here. Every nation that I help send teams to. The world is worth investing in which means that the work that I do to help bring love and hope to the world is worth supporting. Knowing this has made it a little easier for me to ask people to partner with me.

I love what I get to do every day and I love that I get to invite people to be a part of the work I do. When people give money they aren’t just helping me fulfil my passions, they are investing in the future of people from around the world. Supporting the work that a missionary does is so much more than just a transaction – there is a transformational relationship that is developed because those that give financially are facilitating others to reach hearts and lives. Having a team of supporters is much bigger than just a financial basis – we get to build futures together.

I may not be the most consistent communicator, and I don’t tell people enough how grateful I am for them, but I truly am thankful for every person who has invested their time, friendship and finances into me and the work that I do.

Thanks for changing the world with me.

Leave a Reply

