How He Captured My Heart

Sitting in worship one Tuesday morning we were asked how God initially captured our hearts. What was that thing that God used to solidify my faith in Him?

I sat and thought about this for a few minutes and looked back in my life to that moment where I chose God over everything else. I looked through my years at all the different things I’ve been: a carefree child, a curious pre-teen, a confused teenager, and, now, a confident young adult. Where was that moment when God swooped down and forever stole my heart? What happened that allowed me to see clearly that He was good and He was all I needed?

I honed in on one particular time which, looking back now, was the moment God got my attention. I’m not saying that I never looked back after this or that I never doubted, but this moment caused my heart to see that there was more and that He was more. He was what I needed.

December 11th, 2012 – That was the day things changed for me. I had gone through some rough stuff and was left utterly alone that day. I had no where else to go but back home – a place I had dreaded for several months. But with a tearful phone call to my ever-loving sister-in-law/best friend, I was quickly taken back to my family’s house after spending three months avoiding it like the plague. After I had lied to my family repeatedly for months and hurt them in almost every way thinkable, they opened their arms to me without hesitation. When I was at my lowest moment, they weren’t out of reach, but, instead, they were standing close by waiting for me to come home.

Like, I said, it’s not like I never looked back from there. I still made plenty of mistakes as I reinvented who I was and learned to be the person I was created to be. But from that moment on, I knew that God loved me and that my family wouldn’t give up on me. God used my family and the grace and forgiveness they continually gave me to capture my heart and show me what He is like.

No matter what we do or where we go, We is always waiting by for that phone call. He let us make our own decisions, but when things get hard and confused, He waits for us to say, “Hey, I need help now.” And he graciously gives us the thing we need whether that’s firm discipline or a loving embrace.

God captured my heart when it was in its darkest place and has continued to give me joy and life everyday. I’m so thankful that He out me in a family that is full of love and grace. So here’s to hard times and ways that they make us grow. May we become the people we were made to be.

Leave a Reply

