SOIYM – WEEK 8

School of Innovative Youth Ministry
Week 8 – Camping Week

S E T | Y O U R | M I N D | O N | T H I N G S | A B O V E

We went out camping for a few days and had a lot of awesome team time. We played some team building games. We had a few campfires. We did some hiking to a mysterious lemon tree. But, most importantly, we had a lot of time to sit and hear from God. The place we were staying at, Rosewood, is a beautiful green area with rolling hills and lovely trees. There are fields full of cows and a constant song coming from the birds high up in the trees. It’s a pretty incredible place to wake up in.

On one morning out there, my team and I sat in a group and discussed a piece of Scripture: Colossian 3:1-17. Verses 1-2 stood out to me the most; they talk about setting your heart and mind on things above and not on earthly things. What the heck does that mean? I took my bible with me and sat outside in the sunshine and asked God what it meant for me to ‘set my heart on things above’. I was then reminded of another Scripture verse that says not to worry about what you will eat or what you will wear (Matthew 6:25-34).

The more I thought about it, the more I realized that I am constantly worrying about how I will be taken care of – Will I get enough money for this? Will I be able to pay for that? Then I had this beautiful moment of realizing that nothing actually happens because of me – looking back at all the times that I’ve seen money come in at the last moment or something ridiculously miraculous happen, it’s always been because God did it, not me. As I’ve focused on God, everything else has fallen into it’s proper place.

Setting my mind on things above, for me, means to not worry about how everything will happen – when I focus on God and what he has asked me to do, everything will fall into its rightful place. So I’m learning to set my mind on things above and not worrying about today or tomorrow. As long as I am obedient to the things that God has called me to, he will always take care of me. He is a God of love and generosity and I have seen that in every area of my life. I can’t wait to see more of his grace in the seasons to come.

Leave a Reply

