5 Things I’ve Learned From Having a Squad

I used to always see pictures that people posted with their friends captioned #squadgoals and think that it was rather ridiculous and silly. People would rave about their ‘squad’ and make this huge deal about how their friends were better than anyone else’s friends. It was all a bit much for me. However, time went on and I changed along with society. That leads me to a confession that I need to make more to myself than to anyone else.

I have a squad and they are better than anyone else’s squad.

There it is. I said it. I have a squad. What does that even mean? Isn’t it weird to refer to your friends like they’re a S.W.A.T team or something? Despite how odd the trend of having a squad may be, it has been exactly what I needed over the past year and each member of my squad has taught me really important things. So here is a list of five things that I have learned from having a squad.

  1. Be authentic. Your squad sticks by you because they love who you are – don’t try to be something that you aren’t. If you aren’t funny, don’t try and be the funny one. If you aren’t a hipster, don’t get all pretentious just to try and impress the squad. Just be you and accept that the squad needs you because you are exactly who are.
  2. Make time for the people you love. Having a squad is hard. I have four best friends that all have lives and other plans. If we want to all hangout with each other, we’re all going to have to make some little sacrifices in our personal time so we can have some good squad hangouts.
  3. Pick your squad carefully. I love my friends a lot. Like…a lot. I love them because they build me up and encourage me. They don’t leave me feeling crappy about who I am. You have to be really careful that you pick people who are going to be good, but not boring, to be in your squad. Nobody needs deadbeat friends.
  4. Don’t fake how you feel. This is a part of being yourself. You don’t have to pretend to be happy and bubbly if you’re feeling pretty down. Tell the squad how you’re doing and what you’re feeling so that they can actually be there for you when you really need them.
  5. HAVE FUN! Never think that you’re getting too old for girl talk or that you don’t have the money to have a good time. It really is the people who make the memories. Even if those memories are you eating cheap snacks and crying while you watch The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants.

Maybe it’s cliche to call ourselves a squad, but, looking at us, that’s exactly what we are. A squad is defined as a group of people with a common purpose or task. I’d say that my friends and I have some pretty obvious commonalities. All that to say, I love my squad and I don’t care if that makes me weird or cliché.

So here’s to the end of an era, as squad begins to seperate and we all find our ways to our corners of the world. I love you all and you have helped me and taught me so much. I couldn’t picture my life without you.

Leave a Reply

