Jan 16 – Addict

My head jerk towards the door as I heard the crunch of tires from the passing vehicle. I knew that it wasn’t his car, but it’s like my subconscious wasn’t a hundred percent sure. He said he’d be here at 6:00 pm and it was only 5:30 pm – I had so much time to finish getting things ready. I wanted everything to be perfect. I had spent the day cleaning most of my house and cleaning myself up; a day full of cleaning and beauty products resulted in a spotless apartment and what I hoped was a radiant face. It was our third date, but we had known each other almost our entire lives; I’d been completely infatuated with him since we met when we were about 6 years old. When it finally came out a few weeks ago that we liked each other, my heart soared like it never had before. I felt like I had been waiting for this moment since first grade. Liam was everything I could ever want in a person – he was fun, but not too wild, smart, but not pretentious, kind but firm, handsome but not too pretty. He had darker toned skin with deep greenish brown eyes. His jaw was square but shadowed with a little bit of stubble. His hair he kept clean-cut and styled off of his face. He always dressed in jeans and sweaters, only shedding his warm layers in dire heat; he always brought an extra sweater everywhere he went and I’m pretty sure he’d kept me alive with those added layers in many situations as teenagers. We had been friends for so long that I could barely picture life without him, even in years that we drifted apart after high school and each did our own thing, we always found our way back into each others’ lives every so often. And now two and half weeks ago it had finally happened; he awkwardly asked me if I wanted to go for coffee – nothing out of the ordinary for us – but then asked when he should pick me up. The following day he picked me up from my house at 4:00 pm and we drove in an awkward silence to our favourite cafe down town. He ordered for both of us and we grabbed our coffees and headed outside for a walk in the cool spring sunshine. We walked to a nearby park in town and sat under a tree still in almost complete silence. Finally he exhaled deeply and said, “I can’t take it anymore. I really like you, Liv. I have for years and I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to tell you. You’re incredible and one of my very best friends and I would really like to take you out. Like on a real date. Not coffee.” He said those words and I knew I was hooked. He’d had my heart since we were kids, but now I realized I had his as well.

Leave a Reply

