Jan 24 – Numbers

Write a poem or journal entry about numbers that have special meaning to you.

17.17

Theses numbers represent a great deal to me. The bible verse Proverbs 17:17 was the first scripture I ever memorized and it has stuck with me for my entire life. The verse is as follows.

A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for a time of adversity.

A friend loves at all times. That’s kind of big statement. To me, it means that a true friend will stick with you through anything and everything. No matter what is going on and how stupid you’re being, you’ll always have someone to count on. It’s also sort of standard for my relationships; if someone isn’t going to be there for me through good and bad times, are they really a good friend?

A brother is born for a time of adversity. That one means a lot to me considering I have three older brothers. And it really is true for me, my brothers have all been there for me through every ridiculously hard time I’ve gone through. They’ve talk me through things, given me a place to stay when I didn’t know where to go, and showed me that they are always just a phone call away.

17.17 – so much more than numbers in an old book. They remind me of the people in my life that love me and care for me. They show me that I never have to feel alone or forgotten. It’s a promise that there are people who I have in my life that I can count on through every circumstance.

Leave a Reply

