Feb 4 – War and Peace

Write about a recent conflict.

I wanted to think of something really deep and profound to write about, but, let’s be real, I’m tired, it’s my morning off, and I don’t feel like getting political. So I suppose I’ll be shallow, brief, and probably rather relatable.

The sound of my alarm woke me from a wonderfully deep sleep. In my head I counted how many hours I had until work – 9, 10, 11, 12, 1, 2, 3 – seven! Seven hours until I actually had to be somewhere and look presentable. But then I also listed the things that I needed to get done this morning before I went to work – laundry, clean, read, write, make dinner, errands in town – these things all told me that I should probably get up now. With a lazy sigh I grabbed the top of my blankets and began to pull them off me, only to be struck with the frigid air surrounding my bed. Instinctively I wrapped myself back up and concluded that I would never leave my bed again. However, than I was struck with the sensation that I had to pee…Really bad. Though I probably could hold it for a few more hours, I thought maybe it was a sign that I needed to get my grown up ass out of bed. Holding my breath I ripped my blankets off and made a run for the bathroom. Sweet relief came at the expense of warm extremities. Goosebumps spread all over my arms and legs as I dashed back to my room. I grabbed my phone off my desk and saw notifications and messages that I should probably deal with, but I could probably do that from the warmth of my bed. I curled up back under the covers and scrolled through emails and messages, responding to what I needed to. 15 minutes later found me caught up on social media, very awake, but also very cold and lethargic. The struggle to get up and do productive things or to close my eyes for a few more minutes raged deep within me as my eyes made contact with the Netflix app on my phone. I opened it up, despite the knowledge that it’s so easy to get lost in the world of Netflix no matter what time of day it is. I scrolled though shows and lost all control of my thumbs as they selected “Continue Watching” on some crappy teen drama show. The next thing I know, I laid their, amidst my warm blankets, thinking of all the things I should be doing, and got lost in some fiction world for about two hours. I lost the ability to fight the cold or the will to get up. I gave up and gave in and let my eyes droop closed intermittently as I wasted the hours of my morning. The battle was lost. I could always be productive tomorrow morning right?

Leave a Reply

