Feb 19 – Just Say No

Write about the power you felt when you told someone no.

I used to be quite the people pleaser. I did things so people would like me and was always afraid that if I said ‘no’ people would dislike me. Since the days of seeking acceptance in crown-pleasing, I’ve gone through much and have become a fairly different person than I used to be. The biggest thing that changed about me is that I realized that I don’t need other people to validate who I am – I can just be me and that’s good enough. And if someone thinks that who I am isn’t good enough, that’s their problem. I’ve learned over time that I need to take care of myself, and some times that means saying ‘no’ to someone because I can’t do the thing that they are asking me to do. Or maybe I’m capable of doing something, but it just isn’t a healthy or wise thing for me to be doing. I need to know the limits of how much I can do and grow and be okay with taking a time out for myself. I don’t think that saying ‘no’ gave me any power, but I think that when I discovered that I am happy with who I am and I don’t need to do things just to satisfy others’ opinions of me, I became able to say ‘no’ to things that I knew weren’t good for me.

Leave a Reply

