Feb 21 – Memory Lane

What’s it look like? How do you get there?

My memories aren’t kept on a street that I wander down and peruse. Instead I keep them in a box on a shelf that I sort and scatter because that’s more according to the way I think. My memories aren’t this pretty string of moments that flow together in a neat slideshow. They are usually not in order and fragmented and broken, with random parts remaining. I have notes from friends from years ago, birthday cards that made me laugh, photos of faces I haven’t seen in ages, and flowers pressed from fields far away. There are knick-knacks that have accumulated that I can’t bear to throw away because they remind me of days that were simpler and unsophisticated. I like looking back and thinking about what I was like in different moments of my life because it gives me more of an appreciation for who I am now having gone through such things. I wish I could go back and tell my younger self some things, but all that would do is prevent me from learning lessons I really needed to know. So I keep tokens and treasures to remind me that it wasn’t all problems and mistakes, but that, within difficult circumstances, there were pieces of hope and solace to be found always.

Leave a Reply

