Feb 28 – Refreshed

Write a poem about a time you really felt refreshed and renewed. Maybe it was a dip into a pool on a hot summer day, a drink of lemonade, or other situation that helped you relax and start again.

I was drained and exhausted and all I wanted to hibernate from the rest of the world. There wasn’t anything in particular that had me so tired, but just the fact that I had been doing things and being around people. That in itself was more exhausting to me than the idea of running a marathon. I picked up a bottle of wine on my way home from town and allowed myself to finally get excited about having a night off. As soon as I was home, my shoes were off and my leggings were on. I grabbed my favourite knitted blanket off of my bed and filled my glass with my favourite Merlot. With my book in hand I nestled down in my chair in front of my fire-place and let myself lose track of time. I have no idea how long I was there, or what happened during that time to anyone else in the world. But I was finally in my happy place. I no longer told time with minutes, but with pages and chapters. Somewhere during chapter 12 my eyelids drooped closed and my book fell on my lap. I was crumpled in a ball on that oversized chair when I finally found the solace and calm I had been looking for, somewhere between page 189 and my dreams.

Leave a Reply

