Mar 5 – Sing a New Song

Take a popular song off the radio and rewrite it as a poem in your own words.

I thought about this for a bit, but I know that I’m pretty rubbish at poetry and I don’t enjoy it very much, so I’m scrapping this prompt and writing about a new song that I like a lot.

“Happier” by Ed Sheeran has become a song that I absolutely adore. There this deep sense of longing in it for this girl that he still loves even though he sees her moving on and being happier with a new person than she was with him. It’s sad to think to think about it as I can relate so deeply with it. I’ve had my heartbroken and watched someone I love move on with another girl and seem happier than he ever did with me. At that time I was still stewing in my heartbreak and bitterness and I felt like I would never be able to be happy like I was when I was with him, but that deep sense of hurt and loss lead me to learn things that I never thought I would. I don’t know when exactly it started, but I’ve only noticed it truly as of late – but I can wake up in the morning and feel happy without needing to hear from someone. I can have a good day without someone telling me to have a good day. I can feel beautiful without someone making me feel it. I can look in the mirror and love what I see, even if it isn’t magazine cover material. I can spend time on my own and not feel like I’m desperately lonely. I used to be so convinced that I would need validation from a romantic relationship to be happy, but recently I’ve discovered that I can be just as, or even more, happy than I ever used to be. I can be myself and love who I am and that makes me the happiest of all. So, Ed Sheeran, while I understand what it’s like to look longingly at someone who is achieving something that you feel is unattainable, I’ve learned that you don’t need other people’s approval and acceptance to be happy.

Leave a Reply

