Mar 10 – Silly Sports

Write about an extreme or silly sport. If none inspire you, make up the rules for your own game.

There is something that you should probably know about me: I absolutely detest sports aside from baseball. It might be that because I cannot play sports I simply have grown to dislike them, or perhaps I just like being counter cultural, but for many years now I have decided that I do not like sports. I’m not a competitive person, so I hate when people are. I like baseball because I understand and I can play, even though I’m quite terrible at it. But I do appreciate the skill it takes to master a sport and the discipline that is cultivated from it. It’s impressive when people go to such lengths to train and improve. I used to wish that I was a more athletic person, but I’ve come to terms with who I am and am completely satisfied with my lack of interest in sports. I would much rather sit down with a book and get lost in a story. Perhaps I could make a sport of that? I’m exceptionally talented at walking while reading, so what if I set up an obstacle course that you had to walk through while you read and the one with the best time/most pages read by the end wins. However, due to my lack of competitive nature, I would just end up sitting down part way to focus on my book.

Leave a Reply

